Writing

When Writing Calls

To my almost 13 year old daughter who spends so much of her time lately writing…

I know what it’s like to have something inside of you that just has to come out. It’s an idea that starts from almost nothing. It could be a comment someone says, something you read in a book or on social media. It could be a sign you saw or something you saw on television.

Or, it could’ve just come out of nowhere.

I can’t lie…those “out of nowhere” ideas are the best ones.

Viewing life through the lens of a writer is a gift. You see things differently. You look for the story behind every happening. You search for the truth. You make connections. Your brain is always going, always working.

Sometimes writing can be difficult. The idea is there, but it just doesn’t come out like you know it has to. There are those times, but they don’t happen all the time.

Some nights are like tonight.

You were sitting on the couch with your computer on your lap, punching those keys. You have an idea for a new book and you were inspired. As the house around you was abuzz, you were in your own world, creating. You had this idea and it needed to come alive on your virtual paper. The characters and situations you write about are real. You make them come alive, writing far more sophisticated stuff than I ever did at your age.

Last week, you were up to two in the morning because you were inspired. This was after a day in which you attended virtual school and was selected to read a piece you wrote for your English class. I heard you recite every word, avoiding the cliches that most Middle School students use. You have talent, even if you don’t quite understand it. And, when asked to write an alternative hook, you cranked one out in under five minutes, amazing your teachers. It amazed me.

That 2:00 AM writing burst? Welcome to life of someone who writes, someone who creates. I had an idea in my head for a couple of days and tonight was the night I had to write it. I wanted to go to bed, but the writing called. I laid in bed, hoping I would sleep, but I knew better. The idea was ready to come out. I wrote it and it’s set to be published in a few hours when the rest of the world gets up.

And, now, at 2:17 AM, I am writing this because I wanted to take the moment to write what I always say to you. I am so damn proud of the person you are. I am so proud of your willingness to put yourself out there at an age where most want to hide. I am so proud of your talent. I am in awe of your talent.

So, there will be nights like this when sleep is put on the shelf because the writing called you. The inspiration was far too great to ignore. I am so happy that you have that calling. It’s not because writing is something I love. It’s because I see the passion in your eyes as you are creating. I see you knowing that you have so many stories to tell and that those stories could definitely change the world. That’s writing’s gift to us.

Honor it. Treat it well. You are more than a writer; you, my girl, are a creator. Writing can change the world. Your writing will change the world. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

Standard